Join POMS Members Search Renew Membership Update Profile Contact Us

College of Supply Chain Management

Mission Statement

The College of Supply Chain Management is a special interest group of POMS that seeks to create a community for researchers in supply chain management. The college embraces the full spectrum of research paradigms including modeling, empirical and field-based work and facilitates close interaction between academics and practitioners through focused conferences.

The College of Supply Chain Management of the Production and Operations Management Society (POMS) announces its 2015 Best Student Paper Competition. Each submitted paper will be judged based on its contribution towards the advancement of theory and practice of supply chain management. The first prize is accompanied by a $500 honorarium and the second prize is accompanied by a $250 honorarium. Between three and six finalists will be chosen, and they will be invited to present their paper in a special session at the 2015 Annual POMS conference in Washington DC, May 8-11, 2015. Each finalist will be awarded up to $500 of travel support for out-of-pocket expenses and complementary conference registration for the 2015 Annual POMS conference. All prizes will be awarded during the conference at the POMS Supply Chain Management College Meeting.

Click here for details.

Click “here” for Registration Rate of Mini-Conference

Online registration is now closed. However, you will be able to register onsite.

The Colleges of Supply Chain Management and Sustainable Operations will be hosting a joint mini-conference on Thursday 8 May 2014 in honor of the 25th anniversary of POMS. The event will be held in Atlanta, Georgia one day prior to the main POMS conference and will be located at the conference hotel. Join us to discuss issues relevant to environmental sustainability and corporate social responsibility. Meet leading academics and practitioners who are working together to ensure our research is focused on topics relevant to the practice of management. Learn how to integrate these themes into existing operations and supply chain courses.


Please join the College of Supply Chain Management and the College of Sustainable Operations for our inaugural Doctoral Research Roundtable. Attending PhD students will have the opportunity to interact with and receive one-on-one feedback on their research from faculty in their respective fields. The doctoral research roundtable will be held on the 8th of May at 9am, just prior to the joint mini-conference hosted by both colleges.

As part of the research roundtables, students and faculty will be grouped by research expertise. The faculty will offer comments on students’ papers after each student gives a brief (5 – 10 minutes) summary of his/her work. Other participants will also be invited to join and offer feedback on the papers.

Doctoral students interested in participating in the research roundtables are invited to submit an application to Gal Raz ( by April 1st, 2014. The application should include a CV and a one-page non-technical summary of the student’s thesis research. Priority will be given to students close to the end of their PhD. Acceptance letters will be sent out by April 15th, 2014. There is no additional cost to students for attending the Research Roundtable, but all participants must be registered for the POM Sustainable Operations and Supply Chain Management joint mini-conference.

Student Paper Competition

The College of Supply Chain Management is pleased to announce the winners of the 2014 Student Paper Competition.

  • First Place: Simone Marinesi, INSEAD, “The Operational Advantages of Threshold Discounting Offers” (Advisor: Karan Girotra)
  • Second Place: Liying Mu, University of Texas at Dallas, “Milking the Quality Test: Improving the Milk Supply Chain under Competing Collection Intermediaries” (Advisors: Milind Dawande and Vijay Mookerjee)
  • Honorable Mention: Ruomeng Cui, Northwestern University, “Information sharing in supply chains: An empirical and theoretical valuation” (Advisor: Jan van Mieghem) and Joel Goh, Stanford University, “Multi-Echelon Inventory Management with Short Term Commitment” (Advisor: Evan L. Porteus).

Continue reading "Student Paper Competition" »

Board Members 2014-15

President: Ravi Anupindi, Stephen M. Ross School of Business, University of Michigan
Past President: Nicole DeHoratius, The University of Chicago Booth School of Business
Vice President - Communications: Qi Annabelle Feng, Krannert School of Management, Purdue University
Vice President - Meetings: Kyle Cattani, Kelly School, Indiana University
Vice President - Special Events: John Gray, Fisher College, Ohio State University
Secretary: Chris Parker, Smeal College of Business at Pennsylvania State University
Treasurer: Nitin Bakshi, London Business School

Continue reading "Board Members" »