Join POMS Members Search Renew Membership Update Profile Contact Us

Special Notices

Current issue of
POMS Chronicle
Vol. 16, No. 2

EEYRA Awards

The Emerging Economies Young Researcher Award (EEYRA) has been created to establish institutional linkages to reach out to future scholars in emerging economies, and to encourage their development and connection to the Production and Operations Management Society (POMS).

A grant will be awarded to the recipient, a Ph.D. student, of the EEYRA to fund travel from abroad to the U.S. to attend the POMS annual conference. The recipient will also be provided complimentary registration, shared room accommodation at the conference hotel and an additional $200 to meet local incidental expenses.

The award committee may give the award to one or more Ph.D. students from each of the three regions Africa, Australasia, and Latin America. The total expenses for each region should not exceed $ 2,000.

To be eligible for the award, the student must be currently enrolled (at the time of the application) in a Ph.D. program in an Operations Management related field in a country with an “emerging economy” from one of the three regions Africa, Australasia, and Latin America.

Application Submission Procedure
An institution (university or corporation) may sponsor a student with a commitment to partially fund the cost of travel from abroad to the U.S. A Ph.D. student may also apply directly for this award. In either case the Ph.D. student should submit a letter of recommendation from her/his supervisor and an extended abstract of at most 5 double-spaced pages of the paper to be presented at the POMS annual conference. In addition, the applicant should provide a letter from an official of her/his academic institution stating that she/he is in good standing in her/his Ph.D. program in an Operations Management related field.

To receive the award, a Ph.D. student must demonstrate evidence of substantial promise as a scholar in an Operations Management related field. In each region (Africa, Australasia, Latin America), where students exhibit such promise, the award will go to the student that demonstrates the largest promise as judged by the committee members.

Past Winners

   2010: Edivandro Carlos Conforto, Brazil
   2010: Ailie K.Y. Tang, Hong Kong
   2009: Ayman Abdallah, Jordan
   2009: Zameer Brey, South Africa
   2008: Phan Chi Anh, Vietnam
   2008: Zameer Brey, South Africa
   2008: Adriane Farias de Queiroz, Brazil

Movable Type Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux