Join POMS Renew Membership Update Profile Contact Us

Starr Award

2020: Call for Nominations

We are now seeking nominations for the seventeenth award which will be presented during the POMS Thirty First Annual Conference, Minneapolis, Minnesota, April 23 -27, 2020


The Production and Operations Management Society (POMS) has instituted the Martin K. Starr Excellence in Production and Operations Management Practice Award to recognize contributions made to the field of Production and Operations Management (POM) by POM practitioners. It is an international award and is open to all POM practitioners from around the world.

The POMS' Board in its annual meeting held on April 28, 2006 in Boston, U.S.A., unanimously approved that the award be named after Dr. Martin K. Starr. The POMS' Board in its deliberations noted that Dr. Starr has contributed to POMS and its activities since its inception and has been a constant source of guidance and inspiration to POMS. Naming this award after him is indeed a great recognition of his services to the POM profession in general and the POM Society in particular.

The committee for the 2019 (E-POMP) award unanimously selected Mr. Jim Miller, currently on the Board of Directors of, ITRenew, and Brambles Limited; and Dr. Di Wu, Principal research Scientist of for this prestigious award.

2019: Jim Miller
2019: Dr. Di Wu

Past recipients of the award, who are among the most esteemed members of the POM field, are:
   2018: Dr. Colin Kessinger
   2017: Dr. Alexander (Alex) Brown
   2016: Dr. Russell Allgor
   2015: Mr. Pier Luigi Sigismondi
   2014: Mr. Josue Gomes da Silva
   2014: Dr. Dean Bartles
   2013: Mr. Thomas Debrowski
   2012: Dr. Gang Yu
   2011: Mr. Edwin Keh
   2010: Dr. Krishan Kumar
   2009: Ms. Erin J. Wallace
   2008: Dr. Dino Petrarolo
   2007: Dr. Corey A. Billington
   2006: Mr. Lee Cockerell

Movable Type Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux